Blue Ridge PBS announces McGlothlin Awards 2013 semi-finalists

McGlothlin AwardTwenty teachers vie for $54,000 in prestigious prizes

(Roanoke, VA)—Blue Ridge PBS announced today that 20 outstanding teachers from the Blue Ridge region remain in the running for the prestigious 2013 McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence. Among the largest teaching prizes in the U.S., the two McGlothlin Award winners receive $25,000 each, while four runners-up receive $1,000 each.  

The semi-finalists next move through two more evaluation levels, with winners announced at the annual McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching at Radford University in April 2013. Blue Ridge PBS staff direct the awards process each year.  

Now in its 14th year, the McGlothlin Awards were established by the McGlothlin Foundation of Bristol, Virginia. They are given annually to exceptional educators from public schools in selected portions of Virginia, Tennessee, West Virginia and Kentucky. Applications for the awards are judged by experienced educators from regional colleges, universities, and school divisions. One teacher from grades K-5 and one from grades 6-12 are awarded $25,000 each. A stipulation is that $10,000 must be used for international travel to broaden the winners’ experience and enrich their classroom teaching.  

“We are thrilled by the range of schools and communities these candidates represent,” said James Baum, president and CEO of Blue Ridge PBS. “Outstanding educators deserve to be recognized and appreciated, and we congratulate all the teachers in the semi-final groups.” 

The 2013 McGlothlin Awards semi-finalists in the elementary category are: Laura Larkins, Meadville Elementary School, Halifax County Schools; Tracey Nielsen, Virginia Heights Elementary, Roanoke City Schools; Alice Watson, Leesville Road Elementary, Campbell County Schools; Cecelia Prater, James A. Duff Elementary, Floyd County, KY; Kasey Neese Crockett, Jackson Memorial Elementary School, Wythe County Schools; Kim Lee Martin Albert, Clays Mill Elementary School, Halifax County Schools; Pamela MacDonald, Macy McClaugherty, Giles County Schools; Dawn Toole, Patrick Henry Elementary, Martinsville City Schools; Jennifer McGillivray, Marion Primary School, Smyth County Schools; Lisa James, Narrows Elementary/Middle School, Giles County Schools. 

The 2013 McGlothlin Awards semi-finalists in the secondary category are: Steve Ahn, Abingdon High School, Washington County Schools; Beth Cook, Salem High School, Salem City Schools; Sandra Frederick, Damascus Middle School, Washington County Schools; Beth Layne, Halifax County HS, Halifax County Schools; Debbie Manuel, Rural Retreat Middle School, Wythe County Schools; Wilber Nowall, Carroll County Intermediate School, Carroll County Schools; Judith Painter, Andrew Lewis Middle School, Salem City Schools; Tanya Sollien, Bland High School, Bland County Schools; Jeff Steele, Liberty High School, Bedford County Schools; Lindsay Favero, Magna Vista School, Henry County Schools. 

“Every year I’m amazed at the skills, creativity and professionalism we find among teachers across the Blue Ridge PBS region,” noted Thomas D. McGlothlin, president of the McGlothlin Foundation.  

Adele Morris, the technology director for Craig County Public Schools, has been a McGlothlin Awards judge for many years. “The McGlothlin Awards are a fantastic opportunity for teachers to self-evaluate their craft, as they go through the submission process,” she said. “All teachers making the semi-final round should be very proud of their accomplishments.”  

In the next phase of judging, the semi-finalists submit a lesson plan with a video of themselves teaching the lesson in their classrooms. Judges will evaluate the teachers’ instruction strategies, classroom management, interaction with the community, and use of instructional technology. Six finalists, three each at the elementary school level and secondary school level, will be notified in January 2013 and proceed to on-site observations by judges in the final round.   

Further details about the McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence are available by calling 888.332.7788 or visiting the Educate tab at BlueRidgePBS.org. The tab also has information about other Blue Ridge PBS on-air and online education resources, including a new documentary, “Bringing the World to the Classroom,” about prior finalists and winners of the McGlothlin Awards. 

About the McGlothlin Foundation
Beginning in a farmhouse nestled in the mountains of Buchanan County, Va., the McGlothlin family was sustained in their early years through farming and coal mining. As their success grew, the family business became involved in oil, gas, real estate and financial services. The McGlothlin Foundation was created in 1998 to support worthy causes in higher education, health care, and the arts in southwest Virginia, West Virginia, eastern Kentucky and northeast Tennessee. 

About Blue Ridge PBS
Blue Ridge PBS has received four regional Emmy Awards in the past three years for documentaries and community service broadcasting. The winning productions are “The Music of Coal” from the “On the Crooked Road” series, “Bob Ross: The Happy Painter” and “JobQuest.” Founded in 1967, Blue Ridge PBS is the sole public multimedia enterprise serving 4 million individuals in portions of five states. The station’s 26,000 square-mile coverage area includes southwestern Virginia and bordering counties in Kentucky, Tennessee, West Virginia, and North Carolina. As the region’s storyteller, Blue Ridge PBS offers outstanding informational, educational and cultural programming, along with an award-winning local production team devoted to regional issues and interests. Further, over 200,000 schoolchildren and their teachers benefit from the station’s education services that provide a safe, trusted environment for innovative on-air and online learning. Blue Ridge PBS is comprised of WBRA-TV in Roanoke, WSBN-TV in Norton, and WMSY-TV in Marion, Va.

 Download a copy of the press release



Support Blue Ridge PBS

Support Blue Ridge PBS

Follow Blue Ridge PBS
Follow us on Facebook!
Find us on Twitter!
nude girls